Doing.Life.Differently

Daily encouragement as you follow His path

Focal Points Make All the Difference

on February 22, 2012

My work day ended in chaos and discouragement yesterday.  I questioned my ability to make it through another day if I had to encounter those same obstacles that would greet me at the door the next time I entered.  Student behavior was at an all-time low, rivaled only by their disinterest in learning.  Colleagues seemed unwilling to play their roles in the educational process of the students with which we had been entrusted.  Copy machines mocked me as I attempted to make copies of important papers.  It seemed there was trouble at every turn.

But, my day hadn’t started that way.  At the beginning of the day, I was relaxed and peaceful.  I was looking forward to the challenge promised by every day spent in an inner-city middle school.  At the beginning of the day, I faced the same barriers as at the end of the day.  So, I had to figure out what the difference was.  I realized it was my focal point. 

At the beginning of the day, my mind was fortified by Scripture and prayer.  By the end of the day, I had switched to survival mode.  My mistake was self-reliance.  I relied more heavily on strategies and procedures to get me through than heavenly help.  I focused on what I could do instead of what I could trust Him to do through me.  When our focus is internal, we invite despair and disaster.  But, He promised perfect peace to those who keep their eyes on Him.  Today, I am going to do it His way.

Leave a Reply

